I really don’t care if you think I look pretty when I run

Reading the thoughts of other strong women inspires me, and those willing to to use the word “Femism” and who describe themselves as “Femists” are definitely worthy of my time and attention. It was Fear and Hate within a patriarchal society that pushed the idea on us that Feminists are ugly, hairy, stinky man-haters. So many young women today, including well educated women, have fallen under the weight of the misconception that being a Feminist is a dirty thing. Yet if you ask a woman if she believes women should be paid equal wages for equal work, or if she should be respected when she says, “No”, and whether she has the right to live free of being beaten, abused and terrorized by a partner or spouse, or if she should be “allowed” to decide for herself whether she wants to carry a pregnancy to term– without any conditions (like being forced to submit to a vaginal probe with a sonagram dildo) and without false propaganda to try to scare her into making a decision that isn’t what she really wants– she is likey to say “Yes” to most, or all, of those. And thus, without realizing it, she has agreed to the very things that Feminism fights for every day.

In 2013 there were more than 600 new laws created in this country that specifically limit a woman’s right to make decisions choices that affect her body and health. Do you know how many laws were created that affect a man’s rights? None. Zero. Nadda.

I’m not a man-hater. In fact, I rather love them, and I love what what can transpire between us! But, I do feel there is still an imbalance, and that we, as women, are still kept subordinate to men. And it has to change. The dichotomy of male/female is one of many delicious, messy, fun, challenging, aggravating, yet all-together wonderful human experience, but the rules and roles have got to become balanced in such a way that we each, male and female, can respect each other, and allow each other to make choices that support our individual needs and rights. And that, my friend, is what being a Feminist is all about.

Fit and Feminist

A few weeks ago I was reading Facebook comments posted beneath an article about street harassment faced by female runners, and one comment in particular jumped out at me, from a man who wanted to know what was so wrong about letting a woman know she looked good while she was out running.  I commented and suggested that while I can’t speak for other women, I know that when I’m out for a run, pretty much the last thing on my mind is whether or not a passerby finds me attractive.

Anyone who runs with me knows that I tend to be gross when I run. I get incredibly sweaty – no “glowing” and “glistening” for this broad. My face also turns a lovely shade of eggplant.  I wear no makeup, just smears of sunblock and BodyGlide.  I spit when I run.  Like, a lot.  Brian says he can identify…

View original post 556 more words

Leave a Reply

